Become a Member   Donate   Shop

IBC 2018 Competition Details

COMPETITION DETAILS:  The IBC will be held on Saturday September 15, 2018 at Stoney’s Rockin’ Rodeo, and is for Solo/Duo acts. Each qualifying act will perform a 25 minute set. Performance times are determined by lottery.  Limited to the first 6 acts to sign up, and whose SBS band membership is active through September 2018 . If membership is not in current standing the act will not be put onto the schedule until the membership is brought current.  The entrance fee is $25 per act

 Impartial judges from the local & regional blues music community will follow the official criteria outlined by the Blues Foundation IBC.

MUSICIAN CHECK IN: All acts and musicians must be checked in at least one hour prior to their set time or 1 pm. The timeline is subject to change and the turn around times are tight.

 IBC RULES & QUALIFICATIONS: For official rules & qualifications, visit The Blues Foundation website at

 THE FINE PRINT: The winning acts will receive $1000 in travel and/or hotel award vouchers from the Sacramento Blues Society. The winners MUST be willing to represent SBS in the IBC Competition in Memphis, TN, January 22-26, 2019 . If the winning act is unable to travel to Memphis to perform in the competition, the travel awards and other funds collected on behalf of the IBC competition will be presented to the 2nd or 3rd place winners, whoever is able to travel. SBS will assist in raising additional travel funds by hosting one fund raiser show after the competition.

BAND ENTRANTS:   Must have VALID MEMBERSHIP in The Sacramento Blues Society which is current though September 2018. If not, the act will not be put on the roster until their membership is current. DO NOT LET YOUR MEMBERSHIP EXPIRE. CURRENT MEMBERSHIP IS AN IBC REQUIREMENT. To become a member or renew your band or individual membership, please complete our online membership application available at

CONTACT:  For questions about the competition, David Alcock at

ENTRY FORM/CUT-OFF DATE:  Completed entry forms will be accepted on a first-come first-served basis, and are due no later than September 1, 2018.