Join or Renew! - Donate to SBS - Donate to BITS

Who We Are

The Sacramento Blues Society (SBS) is a 501 ( c ) 3 nonprofit organization formed to preserve and promote blues music as an art form.

 

The Sacramento Blues Society was founded in 1979 and is one of the oldest blues societies in California. The SBS has kept the blues tradition alive in the Sacramento area by promoting the local blues music scene, bringing international renowned artists to the region, and is an affilliated member of The Blues Foundation. We provide educational opportunities for young people with our “Blues In The Schools” program.

 

Board Officers:

Cari Chenkins – President – president@sacblues.com

MariLu Onweller – Vice President – vicepresident@sacblues.com

Lisa Phenix – Secretary – secretary@sacblues.com

Rich Gormley – Treasurer – treasurer@sacblues.com

Jim Tatol – Parliamentarian – parliamentarian@sacblues.com

 

Board Members at Large:

Tony Westlake

Art Quinn

Ro Bloodwell

Committee Chairs:

Cari Chenkin/ Jan Kelley – Newsletter – editor@sacblues.com

Lisa Phenix/David  Alcock – Blues in the Schools (BITS) – bits@sacblues.com

Sally Katen – Hall of Fame – halloffame@sacblues.com

Willie Brown – Blues News – calendar@sacblues.com

Linda McShane – Membership – membership@sacblues.com

Bas Vossen – Webmaster, Social Mediawebmaster@sacblues.com

 

 

Board of Directors Meetings:

Our board meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7pm.  RSVP by emailing Lisa Phenix at secretary@sacblues.com

 

Blues in the Schools (BITS)

BITS committee meetings a held at the end of each month – Contact Lisa Phenix for location bits@sacblues.com